Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin-Madison logo


Department News for the Current Year

“Vicki Fama Daniel garners AAHM Shryock Medal Essay honor”
May 2017

At the recent American Association for the History of Medicine annual meeting in Nashville, History of Science program graduate student Vicki Fama Daniel received a First Honorable Mention in the Richard H. Shryock Medal Essay Contest for her paper titled “Medical Identification and the Emergence of a Forensic Paradigm at the 1949 Noronic Disaster.”

Congratulations Vicki!

“ILS TA Excellence Award to James Barnes”
April 2017

The ILS TA Excellence Award ($500) is presented each year to a TA who is nominated by faculty for their outstanding contribution to the ILS Program at UW-Madison. This year the ILS awards committee selected history of science graduate student James Barnes from a strong field of nominees. James TAs both history of science survey courses offered by ILS, 201 with Prof. Florence Hsia and 202 with Prof. Catherine Jackson, and has done so over multiple years, reaching hundreds of ILS students in the process.

During this time, James has built on mastery of course content to become an extremely effective, well respected, and widely appreciated teacher. James always goes the extra mile to support his students and he brings great skill to designing interesting and creative assignments. Congratulations, James!

“2017 DHST Prize for Young Scholars to Andrew Stuhl”
January 2017

Andrew Stuhl, a History of Science department alumni who earned his Ph.D. in 2013 and is now Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies at Bucknell University in Pennsylvania, has been awarded a 2017 DHST Prize for Young Scholars for his dissertation Empires on Ice: Science, Nature, and the Making of the Modern Arctic.

This prize is awarded every four years by the International Union of the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology/Division of History of Science and Technology (IUHPST/DHST) to historians of science and technology for outstanding doctoral dissertations, completed within the last four years and consists of a certificate, assistance with travel and accommodation expenditures to the 25th IUHPST/DHST Congress in Rio de Janeiro in July 2017 and waiver of the registration fee.

Andrew continues a fine tradition as two other department alums have also won this prize: Paul Erickson and Michitake Aso in 2009 and 2013 respectively. Congratulations Andrew.

“Forthcoming book by Professor Pablo F. Gómez”
January 2017

Assistant Professor Pablo F. Gómez's forthcoming book, The Experiential Caribbean: Creating Knowledge and Healing in the Early Modern Atlantic, will come out in April from University of North Carolina Press. As described by the publisher, "Gómez examines the strategies that Caribbean people used to create authoritative, experientially based knowledge about the human body and the natural world during the long seventeenth century." (please click ‘here’ for more details and how to order.) Congratulations Pablo.

Website Questions or Feedback?     © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System